Selling a Gun In a Pandemic | Colorado

?

Are you under a Stay At Home order? Have the gun shows in your area closed down due to the pandemic? Gun stores around the country are overrun with new purchasers and more questions than ever about how to conduct a private sale as an alternative.

How do you go about staying on the right side of the law in a private sale? How can you make sure your gun doesn’t end up in the wrong hands?

Background Checks

Generally in Colorado, the seller in a private sale of a firearm must arrange for a licensed gun dealer to conduct a background check on the purchaser. The gun dealer, if it chooses to provide such service, may charge a fee not to exceed $10.00. The licensed gun dealer must record the transfer in the same way it would if it was the seller and provide a copy of the results of the background check to the seller and buyer. The background check is valid for 30 days after receipt by the licensed gun dealer (i.e., the parties have 30 days to complete the sale).

There are several exceptions to the background check requirement for firearms transfers but they involve transfers that are not “sales”. These can include gifts to immediate family and temporary transfers while hunting.

If you have any questions about private firearm sales or something else, please call U.S. LawShield and ask to speak to your Independent Program Attorney.

The information provided should not be construed as legal advice or as the creation of an attorney-client relationship. The information provided is “as is” without any representations or warranties, express or implied, and should not be relied as an alternative to individual legal advice. If you have any specific questions about any legal matter, you should consult the attorney of your choice.

 

Get Gunowner Identity Theft Coverage NOW

Comment section

3 comments on “Selling a Gun In a Pandemic | Colorado

  1. Thank you for the info. Each of us are hungry for this and any regulations pertaining to a sale/transfer.

  2. Thank you for the info. Each of us are hungry for this and any regulations pertaining to a sale/transfer.

  3. Thanks for the article. But someone needs to inform Colorado gun shops that they should only charge $10.

    Most are charging $25, or $40, plus the $10.50 background check fee. So it cost anywhere from $35-$50+ to sell a firearm private party here in Colorado, legally…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.