If you have an encounter with law enforcement, do you have to tell them you’re carrying a firearm or that you have a valid license or permit to carry? If there is a legal requirement where you live, failing to do so might mean losing your license or permit, or being charged with a crime.
Concealed carry is the practice of carrying a firearm (typically a handgun) on one’s physical person while taking steps to ensure that the presence of the firearm is undetectable to casual (or trained) observers. Concealed carry is often accomplished by securing the firearm in a holster specifically designed to aid concealment underneath everyday clothing.
Kansans between the ages of 18 and 20 years old may now apply for a “provisional” Concealed Carry Handgun License (“CCHL”), which—once issued—allows such licensees to lawfully carry a concealed handgun on their person.
I never would have believed a time would come when I would walk into a gun store in Connecticut and hear, “Sorry, we cannot sell guns to anyone right now.” But this is exactly the situation we are currently facing in Connecticut. Was it a new law or regulation that shut the entire system down? No. The State says its new computer system, which is designed to make firearm sales easier, is not yet fully implemented. Let me clarify that: the new system does not work, and the stores are left helpless, unable to serve law-abiding persons who have a constitutional right to purchase a gun.
The Open Carry With Training Law Became Effective August 15, 2021: What Every Gun Owner Should Know!
On May 17, 2021, Governor Henry McMaster signed Act No. 66 into law, the Open Carry with Training Act. That law became effective on August 15, 2021. Anyone who has a valid Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP) issued by the State of South Carolina, (or any other U.S. state with which South Carolina enjoys reciprocity), may now openly or concealed carry their handgun or a concealable weapon (a firearm having a length of less than twelve inches measure along its greatest dimension).
Permitless carry, also known as constitutional carry, is becoming much more common in the United States. Twenty-one states have now passed some form of permitless carry, and given the overall expansion of carry rights over the last 40 years, it’s not unreasonable to imagine a future where one might be able to carry in almost any state without ever having to complete a firearm licensing or permitting course.
Floridians with a Concealed Weapon and Firearm License (CWFL) no longer need to consider whether a religious institution either 1) operates a school on the property where services are held, or 2) holds services on rented or leased school property.
On June 16, 2021, Governor Greg Abbott signed HB 1927, the Firearm Carry Act of 2021, (commonly known as the constitutional carry bill) into law. HB 1927 (commonly known as the constitutional carry bill) will allow legally eligible gun owners 21 years and older to carry their firearms without a Texas License to Carry (“LTC”). But before you start carrying your everyday carry (“EDC”) gun openly or concealed without an LTC, there are several things you should know.
The 87th(R) Texas Legislative session adjourned on May 31, 2021, with several firearms-related bills passing. Below is a list of some of those bills, along with brief summaries and details on how they affect Texas gun laws that may interest you as a law-abiding gun owner.
At the beginning of April, President Joe Biden nominated David Chipman, a man famous for proposing that all AR-15s be treated as NFA items, to head the ATF.