“Stand your ground,” one of the better known yet poorly understood self-defense policies, has received a lot of media and legal attention since its inception—most of which has been inaccurate or misconstrued.
Ever wondered what the difference is between an indoor vs. outdoor gun range? Are you a first-time gun owner and want to know which is the best training facility for you? Regardless of if you’re a regular range visitor or a new shooter, knowing and understanding the distinct differences of the two ranges will ensure you get the most out of your firearm training session.
The Missouri House of Representatives recently passed new legislation that would further strengthen Missouri's Second Amendment rights. The bill, filed as HB 1462, garnered 101 Yeas and 40 Nays and would allow concealed carry permit holders to carry their guns while on publicly-funded transportation (with limited exceptions). In addition, the minimum age requirement for obtaining a Missouri concealed carry permit would be reduced from 19 years old to 18 years old. Concealed carry permit holders would also be able to carry into houses of worship. Finally, the legislation would criminalize celebratory gunfire in an effort to protect citizens from stray bullets.
With 23 states now having adopted permitless carry, also known as constitutional carry, it appears that the national attitude regarding who should be allowed to carry a gun in public is shifting more and more towards a general pro-gun stance. While permitless carry states still maintain some restrictions on who can carry a firearm, as well as where and how that firearm can be carried, for the most part if someone is legally allowed to own a firearm in a state with a permitless carry law in place, they may carry it concealed in public. Except for Vermont, all the states that have a permitless carry law still have a permitting process in place for those who wish to obtain one. The state simply doesn’t require eligible residents who wish to carry a concealed handgun in public to get a permit to do so.
For first-time gun buyers interested in self-defense, the questions surrounding how to get a concealed carry permit can be one of the most confusing parts of their self-defense journey. Complicating the matter further, there’s no standardized application process between all 50 states when it comes to how to get a concealed carry permit. There are even many states where the question of how to get a concealed carry permit isn’t even one that people have to ask themselves.
If you haven’t heard of the Kyle Rittenhouse case, you’ve probably been living under a rock. There are a few things gun owners can learn from the case. Yes, Rittenhouse was ultimately found not guilty by a jury of his peers, but that doesn’t mean there weren’t lessons to learn.
A question that often comes up on both sides of the gun debate is “Has gun control saved lives?” An answer of sorts can be found in studies and statistics, both of which present some of their own downsides and inaccuracies, at times. The simplest answer to this is the most obvious: Criminals behave criminally, and if someone is willing to break the law, creating more laws won’t stop them. In fact, those restrictions typically hinder law-abiding gun owners more than anyone else.
Whether you’re talking about the 1994-2004 federal version, the 2013 New York and Connecticut models, or any of a handful of other state designs, Assault Weapons Bans (“AWBs”) have been a hot topic for decades. Supporters say they decrease crime. Detractors point to the fact that all types of rifles combined, represent 364 out of 13,927 in 2019 (just 2.6%)—a tiny proportion—of firearms used in homicides, and that assault weapons don’t even get their own category in these statistics.
When looking beyond firearms, it can be difficult to navigate the sea of different federal, state, and local laws regarding carry and ownership. It’s best to be safe and consult with an attorney (like a U.S. LawShield® Independent Program Attorney) before purchasing and carrying a self-defense weapon. Legal to carry doesn’t always mean legal to conceal without a permit, so that’s another factor to consider. That said, here are some options that are generally legal, and useful self-defense tools for when a gun can’t, or won’t, be available.
A common question among survivors of family violence is “Can you buy a gun if convicted of domestic violence?” It’s understandable to wonder if a person who was convicted of domestic violence will be allowed to purchase a firearm. And while the short answer is generally “no,” the specific laws and potential enforcement—or lack thereof—tend to vary by state.