The following is a video transcript.
Giving a firearm under New Jersey law is not as easy as you may think. Paperwork always has to be done, and because of the new law passed by Governor Murphy, private transfers are prohibited except very narrowly for immediate family members.
Gifting a Gun to a Family Member
If you want to gift a gun to an immediate family member, you still have to do paperwork—which means a Handgun Purchase Permit for a handgun and a Certificate of Eligibility for a long gun. You will both have to fill out the paperwork.
Temporary transfers can only take place at a commercial shooting range or at a gun club which registers its members and registers its charter with the state police. Then a temporary transfer can take place at those ranges. The individual who owns the gun must be there with the person, present the whole time, and the person cannot be otherwise disqualified from possessing a firearm. A temporary transfer can only take place in this limited circumstance.
The only other time for a temporary transfer is while hunting. But while hunting, you have to be in the presence of the person you’re temporarily transferring the firearm to. Both of you have to be legal and licensed for hunting—you cannot just give your buddy your gun and say, “Have a good time!” You have got to be there with them, in their presence. The transfer cannot be for longer than 8 hours in a 24-hour period. There are a lot of restrictions and rules, even on temporary transfers. The exceptions are very narrow.
One way a permanent gun transfer may be done is through inheritance. New Jersey law allows a person to leave their firearm to an heir or beneficiary through their Will. There is no paperwork for a gun given by way of inheritance in New Jersey.
If you have any other questions about gifting guns, call U.S. LawShield and ask to speak to an Independent Program Attorney.
Interested in knowing more? Check out our previous articles “Can I Go to Jail for Gifting a Gun?”