Maine Gov. Paul LePage. Official portrait by Jim Bowdoin

Maine Gov. Paul LePage. Official portrait by Jim Bowdoin

Law Shield is pleased to report that Constitutional/Permitless Carry legislation, Legislative Document 652, was signed into law July 8 by Maine Gov. Paul LePage.

Under LD 652, Maine residents no longer have to have a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) to carry concealed in the state, assuming they are not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. However, the current carry-permitting system stays intact for those who wish to participate in reciprocal concealed carry permit agreements when traveling to other states.

A couple of fine points we should mention: A person under 21 years of age cannot carry a concealed weapon without a permit unless the individual is active military between the ages of 18 and 21 years of age. Also, if law-enforcement officers stop an individual carrying a concealed handgun, the carrier must immediately inform the officer of the presence of the concealed handgun.