Guns and School Zones: What is the Law in Oklahoma?

Under the Self-Defense Act in the State of Oklahoma, a person is prohibited from carrying a firearm onto a school, a university, a secondary school, or a private school. However, under the state laws, you can take your firearm, if you have a Concealed Carry Permit, have it in your car, drop your child off, or pick your child up, and it will be legal. You are also allowed to park your car in the school parking lot, and leave your gun, as long as it cannot be seen in the locked car.

However, under Federal Law, it’s very different. Not only can you not go onto school property, you’re not allowed to go within 1,000 feet of the school property, which means if you approach the school, you must stay 1,000 feet away if you have either an empty, or a loaded firearm in your car.

Now, there are exceptions. One of the chief exceptions is if your house is located within 1,000 feet of the school and you are on private property. Another exception is if you have a Concealed Carry Permit issued by the jurisdiction that the school is in. There are other exceptions, in that you could carry in your car as you’re going through the 1,000-foot school zone with an empty firearm that is in a locked container.

Protect Your Loved Ones - Shop Now
Posted in Law

Comment section

1 comments on “Guns and School Zones: What is the Law in Oklahoma?

  1. what if you are traveling through on a public street or highway, does the 1000 foot federal law still apply?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: